<< I'll try to involve myself in some kind of wild orgy >>
2002-06-07 - 8:59 a.m.

I'm a little hungover (from just two beers! What am I, a grandma?), so this entry may not be as entertaining as I would like it to be.

Pub quiz was fun--we got second place in the first round, which is really good--the competition is fierce--and we only missed first place by a hair. On the tiebreaker we guessed that old Joe Louis had defended his title 24 times, but the other team got it exactly (25). But everyone liked our little English pub, and a good time was had by all.

This next paragraph you might want to skip if you are, for some reason, squeamish about birth control or bodies or whatever.

I got revolutionary new birth control yesterday at the doctor! I told her that I hated the pill I was on, and she was like, yeah, it does that to me too, it's total crap, so why don't you try one of these crazy new ring-things? And then she gave me the birth control method that I mentioned before that gives you much smaller doses of birth control hormones, and only affects your, um, fertile zone. It's this wild little plastic ring that you insert for 3 weeks each month. Apparently it's not really on the market yet (it's been approved by the FDA, and her office was selected as one of the clinics that got sort of promotional doses, I guess), so I don't think you can get a prescription, but I'll let you know how it goes.

Okay, all safe now for the squeamish. Here's a little fact from the book I just finished reading, Nickel and Dimed by Barbara Ehrenreich (a good one to pick up if you think the working poor are having a fabulous time of it):

"Studies show that preemployment [drug] testing does not lower absenteeism, accidents, or turnover, and actually lowered productivity--presumably because of the negative effect on employee morale. Furthermore, the practice is quite costly. In 1990, the federal gov't spent $11.7 million to test 29,000 federal employees. Since only 153 tested positive, the cost of detecting a single drug user was $77,000."

$77,000! Even if you're not a big drug user--and I'm not, believe me--this seems like a crazy waste of tax money. People are starving and we are spending $77,000 to catch and fire some poor postal worker who smokes a joint every now and then. "Harder" drugs don't even show up on these tests.

You know, I included the silly "song in my head" category in this diary to prove to myself something I've always suspected--that I would be 113% smarter if my brain weren't so filled up with the lyrics to every bad pop hit from the 70's and 80's, as well as countless musicals and TV shows I saw as a child (Mary Poppins, Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood, The Flinstones--the list goes on and on).

Blarg, extremely boring entry, I do apologize. I'll try to involve myself in some kind of wild orgy over the weekend and get back to you.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31