<< "Teenage Wasteland." Like, duh. >>
2002-06-10 - 9:11 a.m.

Here be dragons!

Now that we've gotten that out of the way, let's talk about my weekend, shall we?

Saturday A. and I went down to the Quarter and the Market and Magazine St. and did some mad shopping. Items purchased included:

-several pairs of earrings (me)

-1 very cute (and very unnecessary) vintage purse (me)

-1 pair vintage, wide-legged, 40's-ish jeans (me)

-weird crystals that turn into jello-like substance when water is added, and supposedly can be used for houseplants instead of dirt (Adam)

-book for K.'s birthday present (both of us)

So. Then. We went back to Adam's house and sat around w/ everyone on the porch for a while (almost all of his friends live w/in a 1-block radius), drinking cheap beer. Then A. and I ate some raw oysters and headed down to the Guided by Voices show at the Shim Sham, which was the big celebratory event for K.'s birthday. If you've never seen these guys play, it's beyond my skills to describe them. Basically the lead singer is this fattish, middle-aged ex-4th grade teacher, who does crazy high kicks and swings the mic and does this Mick Jagger-esque pout. And he and the band drink Jim Beam like it's Gatorade, so that by the end they're slurring their words, and sometimes instead of the lyrics he just sings "Bluh blah blah blah . . . " And the final song (number ELEVEN of the encore) was "Teenage Wasteland," and by this time they had their roadies and some audience members up on stage, and were doing sort of a bizarre, drunken kick line type thing. It was awesome.

Then we went to the R Bar, and in the spirit of the evening I got good and drunk. And let me say, just as an aside, that I looked super-cute in a little 50's dress and everyone wanted to sleep with me. They did too, you hush.

Yesterday was mainly spent feeling hungover and crumbly and watching cable, although we did rally enough at the end of the day to cook a vegetable curry for dinner. And then we did It. And then we went to sleep and now here I am again at my crappy, crappy job.

By the way, on the Doing It front, I think things are already getting better thanks to my revolutionary new birth control. Maybe it's just the placebo effect, but whatever the reason, sex is definitely more fun for me already.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31