<< me and my celebrity friends >>
2002-06-21 - 8:51 a.m.

Happy Summer Solstice!

So yesterday, after I called in sick to work, Kim and I went out to lunch with Adam (Kim: "He's so nice! So calm and mature! Why do I keep dating these 22-year-olds?" Adam: "Kim seems really cool, but she kind of threw me off by asking about my Five Year Plan.") and then headed down to the Quarter. We just sort of rambled around, poking into overpriced boutiques and bravely not buying anything. At least, I was brave--I think Kim just didn't really find much that suited her club kid style. We got some beignets and iced cafe au lait at Cafe du Monde, and then we went and saw Yvette at the Ritz, and she brought us this giant sampler of the desserts she makes. If you ever eat at Victor's, in the New Orleans Ritz-Carlton, allow me to recommend the strawberry-rhubarb pie/tart thingy. It is a flavor explosion.

On the way home, Kim almost talked me into getting that haircut, but I thought that coming back to work--supposedly from the very brink of death--with a dramatically different haircut would probably be pushing things a little far. I actually do feel guilty about calling in sick to this crappy job where I don't do anything all day. I'm a dork.

Then we watched Four Weddings and a Funeral, which Yvette has on dvd. Kim had this mad crush on Hugh Grant throughout college, but it turns out she never saw 4 Weddings, so Yvette and I are now mystified as to what the crush was based on.

Then we went out and got Flying Burritos at Juan's (where one of the waiters fell in love with Kim), and got some drinks, and came back home. I think tonight we might head down to the Rock N' Bowl, but I'm not sure. Kim is so determined not to be an intrusive guest that she won't tell us what she wants to do. Yesterday Kim and I had many conversations that went more or less like this:

Kim: (looking in a window) Ooh, look at that cute dress!

Me: Let's go in there.

Kim: Well, only if you want to. We don't have to. I just want you to do what you'd be doing if I weren't here.

Me: Kim, if you weren't here I'd be staring into a computer screen for hours without blinking.

Kim: I want to do what you want to do.

Me: I'm going to have to beat you up now.

Kim: Your mama.

Also, I got a lot of mail from celebrities yesterday asking for money. Susan Sarandon, Martin Sheen--they all want my dough. Of course they claim it's for "causes"--Amnesty International, blah blah blah--but really, shouldn't it be the other way around? How about this for a reply:

Dear Mr. Sheen,

I appreciate your personal interest in my finances. Unfortunately, I only make $18,000 a year at this time, and so will be unable to contribute to the campaign of that Senate candidate in that state I don't live in.

However, while we're on the subject of money, I notice that you make quite a bit, and since we're so close now (with you directing your letter all personally to me, Mr. Red Dirt Girl, and everything), I don't mind mentioning that I have some bike repairs that really need to be made, as well as some credit card debt that I'd really like to pay off. Please make your check out to Red Dirt Girl. Thank you.

Looking forward to hearing from you,

Mr. Red Dirt Girl



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31