<< Feminism is for Everybody! >>
2002-06-28 - 11:05 a.m.

I HAD A DREAM ABOUT SOCK MONKEYS LAST NIGHT.

I chose the wrong one--it turned out to be a Republican sock monkey.

I'm on a feminist listserve called We Have Brains, and though I don't usually do this, I'm going to post my answer to this week's topic question, which was:

"Can you name a good book or site that introduces young men (or men, period ) to feminism? If you were going to write a book about feminism for men (or boys), what would it say? What topics would it need to address?"

Red Dirt Girl replies:

I've actually thought about this. I think bell hooks' Feminism is for Everybody! is a good place to start; it's accessible, friendly, interesting, and explains in no uncertain terms that feminism is not a giant club for humorless man-haters.

My book, though, would probably be more like a Guide to Dating Fiesty Feminists (and could actually work for all genders, though it would be primarily for men who don't identify as feminists). I think it would have chapter titles like: "Always Remember: She Doesn't Need You," and "For God's Sake, Don't Call Yourself a Feminist Just to Get Laid."

I used hooks' book when I taught freshman compostion, and it worked pretty well.

I have a big fat list of things to do this weekend; about 50/50 fun and unfun. Among the fun things I would like to do are:

1. Go to the 75 cent showing of "Some Like it Hot" at the Saenger tonight.

2. Go to the Marigny in the daytime. Drink coffee. Intimidate others with my hipness.

3. Shop the West bank thrift stores.

4. Go tubing.

5. Finalize plans for Beach Bonanza 2002, which is tentatively scheduled for the weekend of July 21st.

I'll let you know how it all works out.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31