<< The tawdry, dilapidated glamour of it all >>
2002-07-02 - 8:37 a.m.

Things I'm going to miss about New Orleans/ my life here when I leave (partially, but not entirely, in order of importance):

1. Adam.

2. Yvette.

3. Everyone else, especially K&B.

4. The tawdry, dilapidated glamour of it all.

5. The daily afternoon thunderstorm. (Aren't thunderstorms the sexiest? They don't have thunderstorms in Seattle, which I think is cruel irony--all that rain with no sex appeal.)

6. The bad, bad dog.

7. The jungle-like atmosphere, with plants growing out of everything. (The Northwest has this too, although up there the stuff that's growing all over the place is usually mold or mildew.)

8. Iced coffee. (I know, I know, Seattle has the greatest coffee in the universe, blah blah blah. But New Orleans supports not one not two but THREE local coffee chains, all of which specialize in the most incredible iced coffee, which one has little occasion to drink in the Northwest.)

9. Having real weekends with no homework in them, and jam-packing them with fun.

10. The beautiful, gorgeous, peel-y architecture. It's old and snooty and I love it.

11. The French Quarter in the daytime.

12. The Marigny at night.

13. Accessibility to the sugar-white beaches of the Gulf Coast.

14. Accessibility to my parents/old high school friends.

15. Perfectly flat bike-riding surfaces.

16. The red-lit bars. (All the bars here have this incredible warm, orangey-red lighting, in which everyone looks fabulous and mysterious.)

17. To-go cups passed out at bars, so that you may finish your drink on your way to the next bar. (Also, the lack of open container laws--everyone in the car except the driver can be getting smashed at all times.)

18. The fact that smoking is not only allowed, but encouraged. (There are often ashtrays in the bathrooms.)

19. The general epicurean vision of life.

20. The hordes of friends who come and visit me.

21. My beautiful bedroom, and our beautiful apartment in general.

22. The sun.

Things I won't miss about New Orleans/ my life here when I leave:

1. Giant, blood-sucking killer mosquitoes that leave me looking like a leper or some other wildly unfortunate person.

2. Roaches.

3. Also, roaches that fly.

4. The bad, bad dog.

5. My sad, degrading, tedious job.

6. The sweaty armpit heat of summer. (Okay, I might miss that a little in February in Seattle.)

7. The lack of any sort of progressive political vision (except for my 15 friends who have one).

8. The 12 katrillion potholes.

9. The smelliness. (I might miss this a little too--not all the smelliness is bad.)

10. The lack of any viable hiking/camping opportunities.

11. The lack of any real intellectual challenge. (This is my fault. I admit it.)

That's really all I can think of for the not-miss list. So I think it's safe to say that missing wins out, with a solid 22-11 victory.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31