<< Barely Legal Barnyard Sluts and also Canada >>
2002-07-03 - 1:52 p.m.

First of all, I want to get googled! I never do. What do I have to do, fill my diary with Barely Legal Barnyard Sluts? Because I won't, and that's final.

Second of all, I am going to say something that perhaps no American has ever said before: Canadians are better than us.* (I guess this is a continuation of the not-so-patriotic vein I started in that earlier entry.) I have often thought that I really should have been a Canadian, and not just because I'm a 26-year-old woman who still has an unhealthy obsession with Anne of Green Gables, but because Canadians are better. This betterness is not just because of the more accessible health care system, or the fact that their Prime Minister can remember people's names and would never make the mistake of calling an important world figure "Mister Cretin," or because so many of the interesting people I run into online are Canadian, or because America is so busy being the loudest one at the party that we don't even know what those cool Canadians are up to, really.

I don't really know why Canadians are so much better. They're just better.

I have an advanced degree in English, and I've only read 3 Canadian authors, including L.M. Montgomery who I guess might not count. I'm not proud of this, but I'm trying to remedy the situation, so if you have a Great Canadian author you'd like to suggest, please do so.

*As far as I know, there are only two exceptions to this rule. Exception #1 is Peter, the Outrageously Dull (though undeniably nice) Librarian, who very kindly gave me my copy of The Deptford Trilogy(which I'm liking very much) as a going away present, so I really shouldn't speak badly of him. He's just not better than us, is all I'm saying. Exception #2 was a group of guys in a pick-up truck who, when I pulled into Vancouver with my Alabama plates, leaned out of their windows and started screaming, "Ya'll lost???"

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31