<< last New Orleans weekend >>
2002-08-05 - 9:12 a.m.

Only 3 more days of stupid, crappy job left to go.

Friday night: Adam and I went to our last Zephyrs baseball game, which was actually a doubleheader, w/ each game only 7 innings. It was a great time except that everywhere we went, we were surrounded by Bad Loud People. Don't get me wrong, I like loud fans at baseball games--it's just that these people were doing it wrong. The first Bad Loud People were this group of hundreds of teenagers, all of whom were wearing the same t-shirt that said, "God is Good. All the Time," and none of whom ever sat still. We moved to get away from them after the first game, and ended up sitting behind a very drunk guy who was explaining his political views to the entire section:

"We got to kill those A-rabs. I mean, President Bush just needs to take a very strong stand and kill the A-rabs, because we need the oil. We need to get that oil out of Alaska, too, those damn hippies in their 1967 VW bugs, that's worse for the environment than the oil companies the oil companies do more conservation that all those goddamn hippies put together goddamnit . . . "

And so on.

So we moved again, and this time sat next to the drunkest guy of all, who just screamed the first name of whoever was at bat over and over.

"DAVE . . . DAVE . . . DAVE."

Finally, some other guy (who incidentally was a terrifying shade of purple and was probably minutes away from his next heart attack) turned around and said, "Look man, you've been screaming for six hours. How about giving it a rest?" "Heeeeeeey," said the drunkest guy of all, slurring his words, "I'm just trying to win this game for us. We lost the first one, gotta go 1-1 at least."

They repeated this conversation 7 or 8 times, and then--

"DAVE . . . DAVE . . . DAVE."

Apparently it worked, though, because the Zephyrs did win the second game and kept their division lead. I guess I should have thanked the guy.

Saturday: packing.

Saturday night: Sonic Youth, live at Tipitina's. It was a good show--Kim Gordon is cooler than cool--but (this is so embarrassing) I had to go home early because I was too, well, not sober. Not drunk. But not sober. I got a cab ride back to Adam's house with a crazy German taxi driver.

Cabbie: Why your boyfriend kiss you and then stay? Why you go home early?

Me (paranoid and terrified): Um, well, I'm a librarian, and I'm just not used to staying out late.

Cabbie: Don't you like the nightlife?

Me: Er, I guess. At least, the part that happens before 10.

Cabbie: I like the nightlife.

No word on whether or not he liked to boogie.

Sunday: Beautiful indoor/outdoor party for me at the house where Suzanne is house-sitting. It was really great, and made me realize that I am going to miss everyone here a lot. People tried to convince me to stay, and I even got presents.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31