<< counting down >>
2002-08-06 - 3:38 p.m.

Just 9 more hours of library left to go.

I spent today cleaning out my desk and erasing the history on my computer. (If they ever dig deeply into the hard drive they'll assume I'm a perve and a weirdo, but I'll be long gone by then.) I also spent some time today looking at apartments in Seattle online, and the stuff I can afford is seriously ugly. Ugh-ly. I'm cheering myself up with the idea that the properties they show pictures of online are always hideous, and are meant to be peddled to the truly desperate, and as I am not desperate and have plenty of time to find a place in the ordinary way, I will be okay.

A lot of people have applied for my crappy job. I mean, a lot a lot--like, maybe 30. My boss let me look through the folder. One of them even has an MLS, but she's never ever worked in a library, not even when she was in library school seven years ago, which makes me think she might be a weirdo. The rest of them are all unemployed English majors (who are now tending bar) and Divinity school graduates (who are now doing nothing). The economy must really be bad for so many people to be scrapping over such a crappy job.

It seems that tomorrow they are having a wine and cheese party for me in the library, thus violating many sacred library laws. The best part of the party will no doubt be watching Ed and Steven run around and try to catch crumbs as people drop them.

Tonight Adam and I are going to play trivia with A&P, and then work tomorrow, and then, either on Thursday or Friday, I'll go back to sweet home Alabama for a week and a half or so. I'm looking forward to bonding with my family and their television, but I won't have a lot of social outlets, so diaryland may well become my very best friend.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31