<< Road trip/settling in >>
2002-09-04 - 8:37 a.m.

It's hard to update around here--I'm staying in a house with 6 other people, trying to enjoy the last few days with my boyfriend, and also trying to build a new little life for myself, which means:

a. Becoming un-homeless.

b. Getting a job.

c. Talking the folks at UW into letting me take the night program this year.

I accomplished (b). My friend Lee (I would link to the picture of us as Catholic schoolgirls, but I'm sure you've seen it) hooked me up with a job at her law firm. It's basically a pretty crappy job, but it pays really well, and the law firm isn't evil or anything. $17/hr sounds like more money than I could hope to know what to do with.

So, the trip! We actually kept a journal (Adam is more insane about documenting things than I am), but I won't bore you with that. We had a great time, lucked into some truly beautiful campsites, great people, etc. I got two migraines, but that was the worst of it. Elevation and dehydration do not mix, my friend.

Here's a list of general observations we made after the trip:

1. A. and RDG got along well the whole time.

2. According to A., RDG loves: the Outdoors, Ponies,and Poop. (Note: every time we passed horses, I pointed them out. I want a pony.)

3. Despite being a city-slicker, A. likes the outdoors. Also fishing.

4. Paul Simon is pretty good driving music.

5. A. admits books on tape are acceptable, even though they leave out all the description.

6. A.: It was good to see my relatives in Denver. The walkie-talkies at the Rockies game were fun.

7. No campfires allowed. :(

8. Perfect timing: Not camping on Labor Day weekend OR the other weekend we were on the road. Best when possible to camp during the week to avoid wild rednecks.

9. H. apparently can no longer hike without incurring a migraine. May perhaps need wheelchair or other device for the hopelessly infirm. (Note: I did finally manage some very impressive hikes, migraine-free, but it took a LOT of careful hydration on my part. All very upsetting.)

10. A. looks like a gnome in his bandana.

11. Work sucks. Being beatnik-hippie road warriors is good.

12. A. learned he liked camping, even though the howling coyotes scared him that first night.

13. Saw many antelopes in WY playing on the range.

14. RDG loves Buffalo, WY and Missoula, MT because of their Northern Exposure-esque qualities.

15. Most of America is still not within cell phone range.

16. Westerners are nice.

17. Except they think Southerners are all barefoot and gun-totin'.

18. The Cascades are the most beautiful. They just are. Accept it.

19. If retired or semi-retired, one might consider getting an RV to become a campground overseer. Not a bad life.

20. Biting flies. Why?

Quick note of apology: Two of the promised postcards haven't gone out yet. I'm so sorry! I kind of ran out of road, and then things have been crazy around here, but I promise you'll get them very, very soon.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31