<< pretty pretty! >>
2002-10-03 - 8:49 a.m.

It's a misty, murky, rainy morning here in Seattle, boys and girls. I know you're amazed, but it turns out that it actually does rain here from time to time. I think everyone is secretly a little relieved--it was hard to know what to do with all of those extra weeks of good weather, and besides, everyone knows that you always have to pay for unforseen good fortune later on, probably with a mid-winter blizzard or maybe even an earthquake. And we have all of this coffee and soup to consume.

One nice thing about this job is that I have a lovely view of Yarrow Bay, on Lake Washington. From my office window I can see boats (yachts) moored along the pier, fog rolling over the lake, gulls circling, etc. On a clear day you can see across the lake to the Olympics, and there are kayakers paddling around, and it's all very "pictureaskew," as someone I know used to say.

However, I'm beginning to think that the proper Seattle attitude is to feign--or I guess really develop--indifference to all of this gorgeousness. After work yesterday I went out for drinks with Lee and a guy we work with. While we were drinking the sun was setting into a fiery bank of clouds, with boats silouetted in the foreground, lake glittering, blah blah blah, but when I pointed this out to Lee and J., they both ignored the sunset and instead looked at me as though a bean sprout had mysteriously begun growing out of my forehead. This isn't the first time I've gotten this kind of reaction for pointing out nature stuff. I guess it is true that I get kind of overexcited after the flatlands of New Orleans--the live oaks are charming but they aren't Mount Rainier or anything.

Note to you if you are affiliated with the University of Oregon and you read my journal: Do I know you?

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31