<< Red Dirt Girl Does Seattle >>
2002-11-07 - 2:03 p.m.

That article reminded me that I actually had been meaning to do a list of my observations about Seattle, but I forgot. Here are a few:

1. Nobody jaywalks.

Ever. People have an almost religious respect for crosswalks and traffic signals.

2. Public drunkenness is frowned upon in ways that would shock and amaze New Orleanians.

And to-go cups? Fuggedabowdit.

3. People are friendly, though.

Sometimes aggressively and frighteningly so. Lee and I were standing in line at the coffeeshop the other day talking quietly between ourselves about transsexuals, and the woman standing behind us jumped right in with her opions on men in women's underwear, women who look like men, what she would look like if she were a man, etc.

4. All the crazy people live on Capitol Hill.

That's why it's the best neighborhood in town. Fremont Shmemont! And don�t even get me started about that crappy, overpriced, J Crew meatmarket glob that is Belltown. Besides, Capitol Hill has so many fine establishments.

5. It�s gorgeous here.

I mean, really. It is. On clear days�and often even on not-so-clear ones�you can see mountains all around, and there are big stretches of blue water on every side, and houses tucked into hillsides, and greenery everywhere�even hanging off the highway overpasses. And the fall color has lasted for nearly two months now.

6. According to my sources, there is gay bingo on some nights in the elementary school across the street from my apartment. Gay bingo.

7. I�m going to see Neko Case at the Crocodile tomorrow night.

Okay, that�s not really about Seattle exactly. Neko is from Tacoma, so it sort of counts.

8. Nobody is from here.

I�ve met quite a few people since I moved here, but only one person so far who actually grew up in Seattle�Terri, Danny�s cool and beautiful girlfriend. However, this doesn�t stop people who have lived here a few months longer than I have from giving one another knowing looks over my head and saying things like, �Oh, so you are originally from Alabama? This must be so different for you!� This works for me in a lot of ways, though; people think that I must be a truly extraordinary person to have escaped from Alabama without talking like a Steel Magnolia or having to ask what most multisyllabic words mean. I haven�t actually lived in Alabama since 1994, but there�s no reason to disillusion people who are having a good time.

9.

It likes me. I just know it.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31