<< Me and the shawls, part deux >>
2003-01-15 - 3:37 p.m.

I just paid off my first credit card! I had a little cutting-up-the-card ceremony and everything.

I know I vowed never to talk about money in here because it's deadly dull, but I need to give myself these little pep talks from time to time. I need to feel like I'm getting somewhere---becoming a grown-up and a self-sufficient entity and all that.

So that's one down and *cough* two more to go.

**

**

These past couple of days I've been trying to sort out what I want, er, romantically. So far, not much progress, but I think I know what I don't want:

a.) I don't want to commit to anything too quickly; I want to make sure I'm really into someone before things progress to a remotely serious level.

b.) I don't want meaningless hook-ups; I'm too old for that crap and besides, a lot of people have germs.

Put the two together and what do you have? A recipe for me with a respectable collection of shawls, and a very serious relationship with my cat.

Maybe I should strive to overcome my germ phobia and forget about b.), because I'm not budging on a.). And a.) is going to be really hard to accomplish.

As I was explaining to Lee earlier, I think some people have an easier time finding people that they are relatively compatible with than other people do. My explanation for this may sound kind of snobby, and I guess it is; I think that if, for example, you are a young woman attending the University of Alabama and you happen to be attracted to the kind of guy who crushes beer cans on his head, then you are in luck! because almost every man around for miles can meet your needs---and vice versa, probably. But I am not that kind of girl.

Granted, I fit in a lot better here in Seattle than I did in Alabama. But even so, a lot of guys don't really care to date a scrawny freckled girl who talks too much sometimes. And I don't get crushed out all that often, either--at least not on people I've actually met.

For Jake Gyllenhaal, though, all bets are off. Germs or no germs.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31