<< Fuck All Ya'll >>
2003-01-27 - 10:20 a.m.

I got about two hours of sleep last night. What's with this stupid insomnia crap all of a sudden?

**

**

Friday night Rachel and I went to see Hot Hot Heat and the Walkmen at Graceland. In between sets we struck up a conversation with a woman to our left who seemed to have extensive knowledge about music in general and Hot Hot Heat in particular. They were her favorite band, she said. She went to all of their shows. Her boyfriend nodded behind her in agreement.

Then the band came on and the next thing we knew, she was up on stage pole-dancing like it was Spring Break '98. I could not have been more surprised if all of the band members had simultaneously dropped their pants.

**

**

Saturday night R. and I stopped by a fancy cocktail party, for which we were underdressed because we were going to the Tractor afterwards. We got sort of stuck in a conversation with a couple we didn't know, so R. told them the story of how we met, about how we both applied for the MLIS program at UW last year but decided not to go for financial reason, are reapplying for this year, etc. etc. I finished some of her sentences for her.

At the end of our story, the couple's faces had glazed over into blank stares.

In the car on the way to the bar, R. said, "You know, I think that couple thought that I was telling them the story of how we came together as a lesbian couple."

"You're right. I should have started talking about how we picked out cats together."

At the show we met up with Lee and Sam and some nice new people through her. It's kind of hard to talk to new people when you have to holler in their ears, though. I always feel like I should have something pretty significant to say to justify all of that yelling.

One of the band members had on a t-shirt that said, "Fuck All Ya'll" on the back. He turned his back to the audience a lot.

**

**

I spend a lot of time worrying that I'm not a very good person. This is kind of like all of the time I spend worrying about money, in that it does absolutely nothing to solve the problem. I try to be thoughtful and conscientious, but I miss so many opportunities to be those things, and I tend to be so wrapped up in myself. Keeping an online journal probably isn't helping.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31