<< Bad like that >>
2003-02-03 - 10:41 a.m.

So I just came from the dentist. The good news is: I have no cavities! I am 26 years old and I've never had a filling. Thank you, I'll be signing autographs after the show. The bad news is: I have to have three wisdom teeth removed.

Okay, now I would be perfectly resigned to this except that I've already had my fucking wisdom teeth taken out. Apparently they only took two out then, and because I am a freak of nature I have an extra wisdom tooth which brings us to the grand total of THREE that they now want to extract from my skull. Dammit.

**

**

My weekend was a madcap blur. By the end of the day yesterday, I was feeling panicky and exhausted, which always happens when I go for a long time without having any real time to myself.

But because I imagine myself mulling over this journal with a nice cup of spiked coffee when I'm eighty, and I want my ancient future self to feel like she once got around a bit, here is a rundown of the weekend's escapades:

Friday night: Dancing at ReBar with SBD and itzie and itzie's cutie pie out-of-town friend B. B. is considering moving to Seattle, so I spent the whole night selling it to him. I think he was a little bit afraid of me by the end.

Saturday: Took the bus down to the International District w/ Rachel and Loud Bob* to celebrate the Chinese New Year. (Happy Year of the Ram, everyone!) Rachel and LB had bought us orange juices, and we grabbed some vodka at the state store and mixed up drinks at the back of the bus. Because we're bad like that.

We met up with T-Rock and a friend of Rachel's downtown and saw the dragon dance and had sushi and everything. Several Asian products were purchased.

R. and T. and I came back up the Hill and tried to stalk R.'s Record Boy (failure) and to spend too much money on clothes (success). During this time I received two phone calls:

1. My friend Claire is officially engaged and I am officially a bridesmaid.

2. R@bi officially canceled on me. He wanted to go out on Sunday instead, but I already had plans.

Then I put on my new black dress and Lee and Sam picked me up and whisked me off to the Croc, where we met her and her and some other nice people for beers and rock n' roll. DateBoy was there. All relations proceeded smoothly.

Sunday: Brunch w/ Lee and dishery's friend T. T. lives on Capitol Hill and may have a new stalker on his hands in the form of me.

Then R. and I made Valentines at T-Rock's house. Everyone else made pretty Valentines, the kinds of Valentines that will inevitably win the undying love of the recipient. My Valentines looked as though they were made by Tim Burton and David Lynch on a late, drunken night.

Incidentally, I spent most of yesterday in a panic. Mostly about money (why do I think I can go to school again full time? I have MUCH LESS THAN NO MONEY), but also just about everything everything everything. I need some time to myself to sort things out.

When I'm around people too much I worry about things---I worry that some people won't feel included, or that some people aren't having fun, or that people are interpreting the things I say the wrong way. I can't help it but it's exhausting and I need a retreat.

So, I'm hanging up the Do Not Disturb sign for the next few days. I'll be back when things start to come back into focus.

*Loud Bob's name is, of course, not really Loud Bob. We actually had a conversation on the bus about this journal, and Loud Bob said that he wanted to be mentioned, and also that he wanted his pseudonym to be Brennan or Bailey or Brandon or some crap. I can't remember. He's really going to hate "Loud Bob."



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31