<< Amishboy Redux >>
2003-02-12 - 10:18 a.m.

Hey babies.

First of all,everything that Itzie said about him is true. He was a nice young man and we enjoyed his company. He was quieter than you'd think--apparently he was Class Clown in high school, and he's still funny, but he's no Class Clown. He has a habit of making jokes and then raising his eyebrows and looking bashfully at the ground. I mostly felt like I was freaking him out, but he kept saying he was fine and that he was having a nice time so I decided to take his word for it, because the alternative was taking up too much energy.

To cover some of the ground already covered by itzie--We took him to the International District and itzie made him try bubble tea. I don't drink bubble tea because I don't like having seedless grape-type things floating in my beverages. It's gross and if anybody offers it to you say NO. AB bravely tried it and even drank most of it, and it wasn't until later that we found out that he really doesn't eat food.

You know how he says all kinds of crazy things in his journal that you know aren't true? Well, apparently the food thing is real--he has never tasted a banana or a peach or broccoli or mushrooms or anything. Anything. He's just now trying out this whole "food" thing that the rest of us have been doing for years, beyond the realm of Kraft Mac N Cheese. I thought he deserved a medal for trying the scary bubble tea and not even making (much of) a face.

Anyway. We (meaning really itzie) showed him Archie McPhee's and bought him his very own Amish Punching Puppet to remember us by. He seemed to like it.

Monday night (itzie's birthday) AB and I took her out to a Chinese restaurant. AB had never had Chinese food before (surprise surprise), but he bravely tried some pork things and a plain noodle and something else and did not complain.

Then we went to Linda's and got itzie drunk on girl drinks, which was pretty satisfying. Itzie is a good drunk, take my word for it. I think I ruined my street cred at Linda's, though (stop laughing!) by ordering fuzzy navels for our beloved itzie. It was totally worth it, though.

AB made us mix cds with songs like that Jesus and Mary Chain/Mazzy Star song about the guy who went away, but then came back---you know the one. Songs that you remember really loving but only heard once or twice and never tracked them down, or else beautiful songs by bands I've never heard of, and an oldie or two. They are good mixes.

Itzie and I vote for AB to move here.

I have more news, but since I called in sick *cough cough* to work yesterday I actually do have a few work-related things to do. More soon.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31