<< the bomb that will bring us together >>
2003-02-14 - 8:37 a.m.

First of all, I'm starting to doubt the Valentine is for me. I don't know why I'm a kiwi goddess! It makes no sense to me! And Rachel and Lee both adamantly deny sending it, so that about does it for my list of possible admirers. The evidence for it being for me is as follows:

1. It uses my name.

I don't have the most unique name in the universe or anything, but it's not that common, either. (A lesbian at a bar here in Seattle informed me that it's a soap opera name, but it was my grandmother's maiden name so I think I came by it legitimately.)

2. It seems to have an oblique reference to pole-dancing, and therefore the Hot Hot Heat show.

3. A few inches above it is a Valentine to T-Rock that actually uses that name, rather than her real name, suggesting that both ads were taken out by someone who knows us both (and knows I call her that).

Of course, I guess there could be other T-Rocks and people with my name in the greater Seattle metropolitan area. And I have no idea what that fudsy business might be about. So I'm not going to make any more assumptions about it because we all know what happens when we assume.

Moving on! I am requesting help from all of you dlanders who either live in Vancouver or have been there recently. We are going tomorrow night to celebrate Rachel's birthday, and are looking for suggestions for cool bars and clubs and stuff. Ideas?

Last night Rachel, her friend D. and I saw Interpol at the Showbox. On the walk downtown I ran into the record store and dropped off Rachel's adorable secret admirer Valentine for Cute Record Store Boy; I just left it with another, less beloved employee, with instructions. It was a lot of fun---my little Amelie moment for the week.

The show was good, and the crowd was pretty damn enthusiastic--all of those Cure fans with nowhere to go all of these years now finally have a home! A processed-cool guy from 107.7 THE END* came out and introduced the band, and then about 45 minutes later the band actually came out and started playing. In retrospect, I kind of wonder if this was Interopol's way of giving 107.7 THE END a big "fuck you"? If so, I'm a little more resigned to the paltry amount of sleep I got last night.

Standing right in front of Rachel and me was an older man with wild gray hair. My first thought was, how nice that an older gentleman is here to enjoy some of the music the kids are listening to! Perhaps he is here with his offspring (it was an all-ages show).

It quickly became clear that the guy was not accompanying anyone. He was like a redneck at a Skynard concert, and he kept doing this weird rocking back and forth thing which I think was necessary for the playing of his air guitar but made it pretty much impossible for either me or Rachel to see much of the show.

To my right was an older brother (late 20's, probably) and a younger brother (not a day over 13). When the band came back onstage after the "last song," Baby Brother said, "What are they doing? What's happening now?" Older Brother: "It's the encore. They're going to play some more songs!"

*Your standard crappy "alternative" radio station.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31