<< day two >>
2003-03-20 - 10:27 a.m.

The thing is, I really want to be patriotic.

I realized when I went to Europe--and got some perspective for the first time--that America really does have a lot going for it, in spite of the strip malls and the mass consumerism. I have driven across this country four times, and I met nice people and saw beautiful things each time. But I don't exactly feel the need to cheer for my country the way I would cheer for a baseball team. Maybe during the Olympics, but that's it.

I admire the modern European brand of patriotism--you take pride in the things that your country does well, and celebrate the differences between your country and the rest of the world, but you don't feel the need to be acknowledge by everyone as BEST. Or if you do, it's in more of a joking, "Czech beer is SO better than German beer!" kind of way.

**

**

R and I are throwing a Spring Break party this weekend. It's just about the most frivolous party theme imaginable, but I can't honestly say that I've been tempted to call it off. I even bought a bunch of what R refers to as "flare" (or would it be "flair"?) for it the other day--lots of kitschy tiki-themed party decorations. Silly stuff. It makes me happy.

Mostly I feel that, although we certainly shouldn't be selfish about it, those of us here in the privileged first world should enjoy our blessings--that it's almost immoral not to. But maybe tiki torches are a bit much. What do you think? Is it wrong to drink margaritas while there's a war on?

**

**

I talked to Adam last night. He's thinking seriously of going to Palestine this summer, to serve as a human shield for Palestinians. I said, That woman from Olympia was killed by a bulldozer the other day. He said, But she was the first American to be killed over there.

I thought, but probably not the last.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31