<< books are good food >>
2003-03-25 - 9:53 a.m.

Last night I was a very good girl. I went home early and made spinach lentil soup and watched my two episodes of That 70's Show and did some reading. I was in bed by prime time. Gold star for me! Getting a full night of sober sleep really makes a difference, as it turns out.

**

**

Thanks to Itzie, we are reading this book for book club, and MAN is it good. I highly recommend it. One thing that's nice about it (besides the fact that it is about one of the single most badass women I have ever heard of) is that Hahn's voice is so early twentieth century--the way my grandmother talks, when she is coherent. The language is elegant in a way that David Foster Wallace, with all of his "and so but anyway"s, can never hope to be: "Though I had always wanted to be an opium addict, I can't claim that as the reason I went to China." I started wishing on about page 5 that she were my friend.

I have a huge stack of books checked out from the library right now--about 50/50 adult and young adult novels. I tell myself that I read the young adult novels because I am going to be a children's librarian, and I really should keep my hand in and know what the kids are reading and which books are winning the awards. But I would read them anyway.

That's one thing I'm going to miss when I'm back in school again---being able to read whatever I want, instead of boring school books. I'm always shocked by people who can read, but choose not to. Have they been to the library? Have they seen what's out there? I'm just worried about not having enough time to get though it all.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31