<< katrina >>
2005-09-02 - 8:56 a.m.

I keep watching the Katrina coverage, even though I don't really want to. It's just so horrible. It seems that Uptown, the area where I lived, wasn't the worst affected, and as far as I know, everyone I knew in New Orleans is safe. There are people I've lost touch with, but they're young and mobile and I'm assuming they got out.

I don't know if this is totally clear from the news coverage or not, but the 8th and 9th wards--the ones with the worst flooding--are the poorest in the city. Those are the people who got stuck in the Superdome and Convention Center: the people with no place else to go.

Everyone who lived in New Orleans always knew that if a big storm hit, the levies would break and the city would flood. In fact, even Richard knew it, just from our long weekend there this past spring. People talked about it all the time. So I have no idea what Bush was talking about with that "nobody could have predicted that the levies would break" crap. Everyone predicted it on an almost daily basis.

Also, Mr. President, this might not be the best time for that patented smirk. If you have another expression, now might be the time to give it a test run.

And one final note: If you've been on vacation for 28 days, I don't think ending the vacation at that point counts as "canceling the vacation" or even "cutting it short." There are no bonus points for that.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31