<< librarians are here to help >>
2005-11-14 - 4:32 p.m.

So, the badness refered to in my previous entry is a long and tedious work-related story, with which I will not bore you. The upshot is that I was forced to turn down an interview for a job I really wanted, and I sort of got my feelings hurt.

But I'm okay now. Today is my last day at the old (temporary) job, and the children's librarian called in sick. She was supposed to lead a tour for a group of second graders, then teach them how to use the catalog, blah blah blah. So I ended up doing it off the cuff, and you know what? It went really well.

Here is an amazing fact about second graders: They are PLIABLE. You give them a command? They follow it. You ask them a question? They answer it. You tell them to repeat the phrase, "Librarians are here to help"? They repeat it. It's not like dealing with fourteen year olds, and having to sex everything up (so to speak) just to hold their attention.

So I'm thinking, maybe this children's gig that I'm starting tomorrow is where I really need to be after all. Teens are cool but you know what? They are also a big fat pain in the ass.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31