<< Kansas >>
2005-03-09 - 1:43 p.m.

I'm not sure if it shows in my journal or not, but this term has been so freaking stressful. I'm so busy that I can only keep up with world events enough to have a paranoid, terrified sense that they are sucking (what, we're shooting at Italian journalists? huh?), and my friends barely remember what I look like.

I'm also terrified that I won't get a job here, and irritated that even if I do, it will be part-time and won't really pay what I think I deserve--i.e., more than $30,000 a year. Come ON Seattle, pay for your libraries so I can get a job! Stupid taxpayers.

I just can't believe that the job market is as bad as it is. After English graduate school I made a conscious decision to be practical, and heard from many different directions that librarianism was a great way to do that. So I obligingly jumped through hoops, being the master hoop-jumper that I am. But once again the hoops are not paying off, and I'm being faced with either staying in Seattle and likely going on unemployment, or moving to Kansas. And now there's even more riding on it than the fact that living in Kansas would suck. I'd have been better off to give up and move there when I was 24.

I know this is the most annoying post of all time, I'm starting to be crabby to others, too, which is terrible. Maybe all of this will seem better after a good night's sleep, which should occur some time next week after classes end.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31