<< They Might Be Giants (boy) >>
2003-05-07 - 9:45 a.m.

Last night I met Mrs-Roboto and her crew at the They Might Be Giants show. Now, I haven't actually bought a TMBG cd in ten years, but I love them; whenever I skipped high school and drove to the beach with friends (which was often), we always listend to TMBG and yelled the lyrics. Like the Violent Femmes, TMBG is good for that sort of thing because there is almost no way that you can sing worse than the guy in the band.

The show was a lot of fun, if a bit of a dork-o-rama. To watch some of the guys in the audience (and it was mostly guys), many of whom were doing air punches, you would think that you were at a metal show instead of listening to two dweebie guys from New York sing about how the sun is a mass of incandescent gas, a giantic nuclear furnace.* I'm a dork too, I just try not to blow my cover with the air punches. Also, I managed to stand behind the widest guy in the known universe. He wasn't fat, he was just a 6' x 4' wall of humanity.

My favorite quote from the band: "We know you guys prefer our early work, so we learned a bunch of songs from our middle period. We like to piss people off, but only in a sort of casual way."

I would write more but I still haven't recovered from birthday and I'm nearing complete exhaustion. I'm going to bed at 7 tonight. Hold my calls.

*Where hydrogen is built into helium at a temperature of millions of degrees.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31