<< cumplea�os >>
2004-05-05 - 1:35 p.m.

Today is my birthday. For the first time ever, I have not been reminding people about it for weeks in advance--in fact, when Mrs-Roboto asked me a week or two ago how I would be celebrating, I was shocked to remember that it was happening at all. Months ago, I started telling all the doctors that I was "nearly 28," so I kind of forgot that it wasn't really true yet. I think 28 is the perfect age--old enough to know what the hell is going on, but not old enough to be all wrinkly.*

A lot of people think that Cinco de Mayo is Mexican Independence Day, just like the Fourth of July here in the U.S., but it isn't. It's actually the anniversary of a battle that the Mexicans won against the French, which sort of made them realize that it was possible for them to be an independent people. So it's the anniversary of a sense of identity, and of a very good idea. I like that.

Maybe it's the fact that the sun just came out a little while ago, or maybe it's the margarita that B bought me for lunch, but I feel fan-freaking-tastic. My life has never been any better than it is right now, and I've never felt more sure about who I am and where I'm going. Thank you to everyone who makes that true.

*Okay, so I haven't reached the plain of higher truth where wrinkles cease to matter. Back off, I'm still young here.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31