<< Pat Buchanan, of all freaking people >>
2004-09-15 - 11:18 a.m.

My parents live in southern Alabama--almost Florida--and they have a shack in a little fishing village on the panhandle. So they have been hunkering down for Ivan, as have all of their friends who live in the little village, many of whom live in trailers. I hope they'll be okay. It really doesn't pay to live in a trailer in Florida.

I'm super glad I don't live in New Orleans anymore. That town is shaped like a saucer and is below sea level so whenever it rains, it floods like mad. My old apartment will probably be waist-high in water.

**

**

I did a bad thing. See, Comcast was running this special where cable was only $14/month for a year, and . . . I caved. I know it's wrong, but I couldn't help myself. And I have to say, it was pretty sweet to get home last night after my 15-hour cross-country journey to find Jon Stewart waiting for me.

Did you see him last night? Pat Buchanan was on, talking about what a huge mistake the Iraq war was and is. You know things are bad when Pat Buchanan, of all freaking people, is starting to make sense.

I'm going to write a book of sonnets to Jon Stewart. In my favorite moment from last night's show, Jon and old Pat were talking about Iraq and Pat said something about Kerry changing his mind about the war, and that at least Dubya had stayed firm in his convictions. Jon said,

"What? I don't understand that argument. That's like saying, 'Well, sure, he drove us straight into a wall, but at least he didn't blink!'"



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31