<< kasabian is bad >>
2005-06-22 - 1:41 p.m.

Okay, two separate ladies have challenged me to this "list your top 5 current favorite songs" thing, and I really feel like I have to respond. The thing is, I'm hopelessly out of touch. As I told Ara Jane the last time I saw her, I haven't bought any music in forever. What's worse, lately when I listen to KEXP, I think old lady thoughts like, "Really? This is what the kids are listening to?" I don't know what the deal is with Kasabian, for instance, but I hate that band. Also pretty much any band with a number in the band name is a guaranteed suckfest.

Okay, I just did a Google search for Kasabian, and this is their album description, courtesy of Amazon UK: "Honest and real, arrogant and na�ve, Kasabian are four lads making music with total disregard for anything else going on and are sure to be the next big thing."

Good gravy.

Anyway, I'm sure there is some fantastic music out there, but I don't know what it is. The new Sleater-Kinney seems pretty good, but I haven't bought it. However! Since the challenge has been posed, I will do my best. Here is a sort of random assortment of songs that I like right now; it would be a different list if I filled it out tomorrow.

1. "New York City"--Cub
2. "Song for Myla Goldberg"--the Decemberists*
3. "Fond Farewell"--Elliot Smith
4. "Lay Lady Lay"--Magnet
(A cheesy choice, but sue me.)
5. "Zombie"--Touchdown Eagle

I'm supposed to pass this challenge along to five more unsuspecting journalists, but let's just say if you are reading this you can consider yourself challenged. Or not, it's really up to you.

*If you haven't read Bee Season by Myla Goldberg, please do so right away.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31