<< fake dating >>
2003-06-26 - 9:46 a.m.

Last night I went on a really great fake date. I find fake dating to be infinitely preferable to real dating--you get all the fun and flirting of a real date, but without all the pressure and strain. And this was a top-notch fake date: I got a fancy meal out of it, with drinks and appetizers and dessert and everything.

The f.d. was with Mitch (what a terrible pseudonym), who is an old high school friend of Monkey's fiance, Sam. He's in Seattle on business, and since he's staying with Monkey and Sam, his company is saving on hotel costs and is therefore willing pick up the tab for oysters and cocktails for four. (Fake dating works better as a double date in which the other couple is real. I'm not sure why, it just does.)

Mitch is one of my all-time favorite fake dates (and I consider myself something of a professional); we aren't at all interested in each other (I tend to date dorky types, while he tends to date women who care about Burberry plaid*), but we have a good time together. Plus, he's talented at the whole dating scenario; he's quick with the wine-pouring, gets all the way up when you need to scoot out to the bathroom, and he's a good conversationalist.

And did I mention the free oysters?

*In fact, he has a girlfriend he's really into right now, and I think she is cooler than this. Mitch himself is not into Burberry or anything. He's okay.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31