<< my little tip >>
2005-05-10 - 11:49 a.m.

There were several events for my birthday, because I am spoiled by generous friends/boyfriend. On the evening itself, Mrs. Roboto treated boyfriend and me to drinks and dinner, although she swears that we will get to take her out this week to celebrate her grad school acceptance.* I received awesome presents.

Friday night, a lovely dinner at La Medusa in Columbia City (a nice neighborhood, you should check it out if you haven't). It's a Sicilian restaurant, so everyone there had a gun and hoped that our first child would be a masculine child. Okay not really, but the food was fantastic. Recommended.

Saturday night, we had a bonfire at Golden Gardens (a Seattle beach where they let you burn stuff in pits). It says on the GG website that you're only supposed to burn firewood, but (though two smug-looking cops walking around ticketing families for quietly drinking beers) the rule about limited burning was pretty much ignored.

The people using the pit next to ours had all brought their Christmas trees to burn--probably 8 or 10 trees in all. Among them, they had maybe fifteen kids who chanted "TREE! TREE! TREE!" until some adult put another tree on the fire. I felt like an anthropologist an alien religious ceremony.

If you've never seen a 6-month old Christmas tree go up in flames, you really don't know the true meaning of the word "flammable." There was a constant gentle rain of ash from the sky, like Mt. St. Helens or a nuclear disaster, and I was convinced that eventually those adorable pagan children were going to get their faces burned off.

All in all it was a good time, but it's hard to get the smell of burnt Christmas out of your clothes. That's my little tip for today.

**
**

So, I'm 29 now. I thought this birthday would bother me, but so far not. I think this is partly because even though I don't necessarily look as young as I once did, I'm still sort of waiting for womanly sophistication to fall down upon me from above, so I just don't feel very old. Plus, I guess, my 20's have been fun but I don't mind moving on to the next step. I'm ready for slightly different kinds of fun. Like, say, fun with a salary.

*Just a little p.s. about Mrs. R.'s grad school acceptance: In case you didn't already know, she is a total badass. There were roughly 7.4 billion applicants for about 2 positions in that program, and she got one. She rocks.


<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31