<< buddy and steve >>
2004-09-12 - 12:11 p.m.

My parents' new farm is beautiful--nice rolling countryside with lots of big trees and a pretty little pond. I've suggested several times that the only thing that could make it look nicer would be a pony or two, but that idea has been consistently shot down.

The farm's previous owners left behind two cats, which is unconscionable but I'm glad they did--a farm needs cats and my parents would never have gotten any on their own. My mom hates all domesticated animals, although she will not admit it to anyone outside the family, and would (probably) not actually go so far as to stop feeding them.

The cats are small and spend most of their time cleaning each other's faces. I named the black and white male Buddy, since my dad was already calling him that (as in, "Hey, buddy, get down off of that tractor"). I wanted to name the grey and white female Spook, since I'm the only one who's been able to pet her so far, but my brother insisted on naming her Steve. I had to admit that Steve is a pretty good name for a cat.

Robert came up from Gainesville, where he is now in tax school (big fun), and he and my father have spent most of the past few days bush hogging* in the back pastures. Mom and I have been painting the living room.

The other evening, right at sunset, we all--the four of us plus my father's dog--took a walk to look at the land the men had cleared that day. The sky was pink and a mist was settling in on the low pastures. We heard a noise and turned around to find that the cats had decided to come and help survey the property. They gravely touched noses with the dog and then strolled along beside us.

When it was nearly dark, the seven of us all turned around and headed back home.

*For you cityfolk, a bush hog is a piece of equipment that attaches to the back of a tractor. It basically works like a giant lawnmower, and can cut down small trees.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31