<< a devastating tragedy >>
2003-08-11 - 9:34 a.m.

The past few days I've had this bizarre, unreasonable belief that really good things are about to happen. Now that I've said it aloud (aprint?), the apocalypse will probably come tomorrow and it will be all my fault. There is nothing in particular that I'm excited about, either. Just a feeling.

It rained this weekend, and I loved it. Not that I've been complaining about the sun, it's just that variety is nice. Besides, whenever it's sunny on the weekend (i.e., the last three months, almost), I feel duty-bound to go outside and Take Advantage by doing something that will make me break a sweat. This weekend, though, I had an excuse to sit on my balcony most of the day on Sunday, drinking coffee and reading the 257 books I had just checked out from the library.

I also bought some canvases and acrylic paints and had art time. I'm no artist, although back when I still thought I was pretty damn good at most everything, art was one of the things. Now though, I'm just sort of interested in it as art therapy. It's fun to push the paint around on the canvas.

On Saturday our scheduled hike was rained out, so we bowled. My bowling scores were:

Round 1: 57 (wow!)

Round 2: 93

I improved, at least.

The best part of bowling was that the music at the rink was nothing but Couple-Skating Hits of the Mid-80's. In between frames, Johanna and I were doing inspired lip sync performances of such classics as:

"Lady in Red," Chris DeBurgh

"Can't Fight This Feelin'," REO Speedwagon

"I Want to Know What Love Is," Foreigner

"If Ever You're In My Arms Again," Peabo Bryson

There were more, but that's all I can remember right now. We still knew every single word.

I never got asked to couple-skate, actually---a devastating tragedy from which I have never fully recovered. I didn't really catch on with the boys in middle school. The freckles were a strike against me, I think. That, and my tendency to go around kicking the shins of the boys I had crushes on.

3 more weeks to quit, and counting . . .

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31