<< adventure woman/badass >>
2004-05-17 - 4:08 p.m.

The other incredibly stupid thing I�ve done lately, aside from joining a committee, is that I got suckered into taking minutes at all the faculty meetings for the rest of my tenure here at the Information School. You know what�s really boring? Faculty meetings. I�m the only one there that pays attention the entire time, and I certainly wouldn�t if I didn�t have to.

**

**

On Friday I accidentally went on a very long hike. I say �accidentally� because I only meant to go on a moderately long hike, but my Winter Hikes book kind of sucks, and the turn-around point, which was supposed to happen at about the two mile mark, wasn�t described very well. So I ended up hiking over 10 miles, which isn�t a huge amount, generally speaking, but considering the amount of ass-sitting-on I�ve been doing this winter, it�s not too bad. I�m not good at judging distances, so I didn�t realize how far I�d gone until I finally got back to the trailhead and noticed a pencil-written note from the ranger that said: �Do not use the log to cross the ravine at the 4 mile mark! It is unstable! Use the trail that goes down into the creek bed!!�

I had in fact crossed the log both coming and going, and lived to tell the tale. I�m kind of an adventure woman/badass type, if you want to know the truth.

**

**

Monkey and I went to one of those semi-interactive plays this weekend, the kind where the show changes every night and they pass out cookies. The night we were there, one of the �guests� (it�s set up kind of like a demented Letterman show) was a guy who sang an Elvis Costello song, harmonizing with a recording of himself which he played on a boombox slung around his neck, guitar-style. At the very beginning of his act, he asked everyone who was in love to raise their hand. We were sitting up front so I couldn�t tell for sure, but my sense was that a lot of hands were waving around.

Earlier that day on the radio I heard the results of a study which found that the single strongest indicator that a marriage would work was for both participants to have very low expectations. The second strongest indicator was choosing someone who was a lot like you, not someone who was the best possible person you could get.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31