<< shifted >>
2003-06-23 - 9:45 a.m.

I feel like I�ve been gone for a million years, and it hasn�t even been a week. As I was getting off the plane at SeaTac last night I had the feeling that Seattle should be different, somehow, or that my apartment would be ransacked or my cat disappeared. But of course Seattle is just how I left it (only maybe slightly grayer), and Itzie did such a good job taking care of things that Neko didn�t even seem especially disturbed that I�d been gone. I was the only thing that had shifted a little.

I could tell you a thousand and one stories about the wedding festivities, some of them dland appropriate, and some of them probably not. The most important thing about the weekend, for me, was having some time with my college girlfriends. Being with them again meant so much to me---the way we slip right back into understanding each other perfectly without any awkwardness, the way they bring out parts of me that I forget about when they aren�t around, the way we can turn one hotel room and a couple of bottles of wine into a perfect night.

Claire was a dream of a bride, the most beautiful I have ever seen---and the most nervous. Her husband . . . I don�t know him, and he never made any effort to have a conversation with me or with the other bridesmaids. I hope he is good enough for her. I hope he won�t disappoint her. I hope he isn�t the closet Republican that I think he might be.

We briefly got to see another college friend of ours, Johanna, who lives in Baltimore. She is a year older than we are, and got married the summer after our class graduated�-the first wedding of our college friends. Her marriage is disintegrating, it turns out, and has been for years. This makes it official: no one I know who got married in his or her early twenties is happy now.

I�m pretty exhausted right now. We celebrated the summer solstice�--Claire�s wedding night---by staying out on the town until 5 am, and staying up until about 7. Maybe I�ll try to tell you more stories later on, when I�ve woken up a little more and feel more myself. There�s an especially funny one about snowboarding, but I�m afraid it might fall into the non-dland appropriate category.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31