<< the conversation >>
2004-11-05 - 2:04 p.m.

One of my bosses just called me "brilliant." Okay, not me, something I did, but still--it totally made my day. I'm pretty pathetic in my need for positive feedback. I am the loser for whom Successories were invented.

**
**

I'm having the same conversation over and over--with friends, fellow graduate assistants, instructors, my barista, the iSchool receptionist, my boss, a date, etc. You know how it goes--shock, anger, fear, etc.

I've heard some people say that it's wrong to live in a liberal bubble, where you just know that no matter who you have this conversation with, they are going to agree with you. And basically, I guess this is true. We should be mixing it up more with all those people who still somehow believe that Saddam Hussein bombed the towers. But as someone who had to live in Alabama for eighteen years, I am deeply grateful for the liberal bubble. It's a cold comfort, but it's still comfort.

I admire the people who stick it out in the "heartland," though. My dad told me Tuesday night that someone in their uber-conservative southern Alabama neighborhood had actually put up a Kerry sign in their yard. He said it was the bravest thing he'd ever seen and he was amazed their house hadn't burned down.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31