<< when the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie . . . >>
2003-07-17 - 8:54 a.m.

Last night we went over to Danny's to watch Breaking Away. God I love that movie. If you haven't seen it, go watch it right now, several times. Mostly I love Dave. I mean, why not just decide to be an Italian cyclist? Who cares that you've never left Bloomington, Indiana? Have a little imagination, for Christ's sake.

Danny has a cycling jersey that says "Cutters" on it. He wore it for the Seattle-to-Portland bike ride a couple of years ago, and also for the final race scene of the movie last night. It rocks, just like Danny does.

B had given me a ride over to DK's on his Vespa, and so on the way home (after borrowing a pair of mismatched knee socks from Danny, since I'd stupidly only worn a sundress and a hoodie) we waved at every single pedestrian and most of the drivers, shouting, "Ciao! Ciao! Arrivederci!" I also shouted "Buon giorno!" a lot, because it's more fun to say than "ciao" and I couldn't remember how to say "good night" in Italian. (It's "buona notte!" for those of you playing along at home, although I still say that "buon giorno!" is more fun.) We tried to think of Italian songs to sing, but could only come up with "That's Amore!", so we went through that one a few times.

I have to say, our Italian love was more appreciated in Maple Leaf and the U district than on Capitol Hill. When I shouted "Ciao! Ciao bellas!" and waved like crazy to the packed crowd sitting outside at the Deluxe, I mostly just got blank stares.

I love that damn Vespa.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31