<< trust me when I say I know the pathway to your heart >>
2003-08-27 - 9:13 a.m.

Last night Birdgyrl and I were talking on the phone and she said, �You have to write about this conversation in your journal.� So here it is, Birdie.

This may be hard to believe, but we were talking about boys. She was sort of asking me for advice (I don't know why either), and I was basically at a loss (what is WITH these people, anyway?). Then suddenly, we were waxing nostalgic for our high school romances. It probably didn't help that I�ve been watching the first couple of seasons of Buffy on dvd and I am developing a crush on a 17-year-old fictional character, but whatever. Shut up.

High school boys were so nice and pliable, and they thought you were just dreamy. There were no Issues lurking around�high school boyfriends weren�t worried that you were getting too serious, or that they liked you too much, or that you were too much/not enough like their last eleven girlfriends, or that you were looking to have kids by next Tuesday, or whatever. And you didn�t even have to deal with sex, really, if you didn�t want to. If you happened to be so extremely kind as to put out to some degree, they were yours 4evah.

I mean yeah, I had to take Algebra II in high school, so it wasn�t a perfect utopia. And there were plenty of jerks around, but either I was better able to pick them out back then, or else those guys just weren�t interested in me and so they left me alone. Times were basically good.

I had a thought recently�and believe me, it seemed a lot deeper when I was really drunk a few nights ago, as opposed to now, when it just seems sort of Jack Handy deep�about nostalgia, and what it�s for. I generally tend to think of nostalgia as a kind of disease that keeps us from enjoying what we have right now. But maybe the proper use of nostalgia is to help us appreciate what we have right now, by showing us how much right now will mean to us in ten years. I for one have no doubt that I�ll look back very fondly on this past year when I�m 37.

I look back on it pretty damn fondly already.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31