<< what happens in Vegas >>
2004-08-26 - 1:49 p.m.

Well, Vegas was pretty awesome but I don't think I'll share all my Vegas stories, at least not until I have the pictures to go with them. I've been trying to tell them to various people since I got back, but nobody thinks they're as funny as I do. I guess that's why what happens in Vegas stays in Vegas--it bores everyone else.

Here, however, is an incomplete list of things we saw/did, for the sake of record-keeping:

1. Had lunch at the Venetian on the fake canal, where Mira and Paul Sorvino (and a couple of randoms, one of whom Clare swears she saw on an episode of Will and Grace) were at the next table. Our table was better than theirs.

2. Drinking.

3. Tour of the world famous Liberace Museum, which was even more fabulous than you might imagine.

4. More drinking.

5. Tour of Seigfried and Roy's Secret Garden. Oh yeah baby. There was no mention of the fact that one of them got eaten by that tiger or whatever.

6. Tour of Madame Tussaud's Interactive Wax Attraction, where Clare photographed me sucker punching W in the chin. Deeply satisfying.

7. Skeeball at Coney Island.

8. A little gambling.

9. See #4.

Mostly, though, we just hung out and talked about Yvette's impending wedding, and I got to know her fiance (or "husband on deck," as someone I know used to say. "Fiance" is such a bizarrely formal word). And he was just so awesome (funny and smart, and all your standard laudatory adjectives), and so in love with Yvette, that seeing them together was--sorry to go all Oprah on you here--kind of inspirational.

You know how sometimes, people date your friends and you can tell that they are just kind of putting up with that friend's quirks, but secretly hope that said friend will eventually become more normal or boring or whatever--more like them? Bill was not doing that. He definitely likes Yvette for her quirks. So I like Bill.

Plus, he's a professional chef and cooked meals like nothing I have ever tasted, seriously. He took cous cous to a whole new level.

It did get a little weird at times because both Clare (who's wedding I was in last summer) and Yvette are now extra anxious to get me married off so that we can all proceed to share the joys of matrimony with one another and then start breeding at the same time and everything. I wasn't at all offended by this--I thought it was kind of cute, actually--but I think they are out of luck. At least for the foreseeable future.

**

**

On a completely unrelated note, I have had an eye twitch in my left eye for the past three weeks and it is driving me slowly, steadily insane.

**

**

p.s. Thanks for the tip, anonymous writer in my guestbook. I do believe you were right.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31