<< the cult of the graduated >>
2005-06-09 - 8:31 a.m.

I met R.'s parents for the first time last night, and I think it went very well. I was a little bit extra nervous because they are Mormon, and I was afraid my obvious non-Mormon-ness might offend them. But that didn't seem to happen. When meeting people's parents I think I used to give off a vaguely Eddie Haskell vibe, but I seem to be over that now.

Also, the sun is out! It's been raining in a stupid way the last couple of weeks, Seattle's karmic payback for a nice February. But right now there's not a cloud in the sky. I might even risk a somewhat summery outfit.

Tomorrow evening is the graduation ceremony from the School of Information. I hadn't planned to walk--I've done this ceremony too many times already, it feels like--and I didn't think anyone would notice or care that I wasn't participating. But one of the professors I work for seemed genuinely disappointed, so I'm going to see if they'll let me walk across the stage. I won't have the cap and gown--er, hood and gown--but that's okay. There's something about being hooded in a ceremony by other people also wearing hoods that seems a little bit cultish.

I don't like events which involve things like me walking across stages and shaking hands and stuff, but I guess it will be nice to mark the end of my internment in library school.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31