<< why we ask that you don't sleep >>
2006-02-23 - 2:18 p.m.

Last night the security guard told me that there was something in the back of the library that he thought I should see. This is never an auspicious sign.

So I followed him to the back, and he pointed out an older man who was poised over his laptop, fingers in mid-type, completely unconscious.

The security guard said, "I've been watching him for fifteen minutes and he hasn't moved a muscle." He really was totally still. He didn't seem to be breathing, and he was sort of a pale, purplish color.

I walked over to him and said, "Excuse me, sir."

Nothing. I moved a little closer.

"Sir?"

Still nothing.

"EXCUSE ME SIR! ARE YOU ALRIGHT!!"

When he didn't wake up after that I started to panic. I wasn't sure whether or not we have a policy for what to do when somebody eats it in the library. I mean, you'd call an ambulance I guess, but that's an Incident Report that I'd really rather not file.

Finally I screwed up all my courage and touched him on the arm, and he woke up. We didn't even have to call the coroner, so everyone counted the evening as a success.

And that, friends, is why we ask that you don't sleep in the library. Heavy sleepers freak us the fuck out.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31