<< treacle >>
2006-02-03 - 9:58 a.m.

Now that I've officially given notice at my current job, the daily commute just seems impossible. I couldn't really let myself think about it before, but now that there's an end in sight, every day that I have to do it again just sucks so hard. I hate everyone else on the road, individually and with a passion.

I've been working on reviews of teen books for a zine that I'm going to write and Richard is going to illustrate, and it's gotten me excited about reading teen books again. Kids' books are great but some of them are just so treacly.

I was invited to interview for the county library system today--the only system around these parts that I haven't worked for yet. (Well, not for money. They run the juvie hall library that I worked in for free.) But I turned down the interview. Thing one was that the job would have been in North Bend, which is where they filmed Twin Peaks. That's far--basically as far away as the job I just quit. Thing two was that the job was all reference, all the time, which I don't think anyone could do and stay sane.

I was going to do the interview just to get some "face time" or whatever with the HR gurus of that system, but then I realized that there was just no way I could feign interest in that job, even for an hour. So I said no, and it felt nice.

Instead, I am going to spend today with Monkey and the baby, which is super exciting because I will have them both all to myself.

**
**

As promised, here are a couple of pictures. They do not constitute great photography, but they do represent our first attempts to use the timer feature on the digital camera.

These are from our trip to Sequim (the sunniest spot in the Northwest!) a couple of weeks ago. Here is one of Richard and me desperately clinging to some driftwood:

This is out on the Dungeness Spit on the north side of the Olympic Peninsula. That raging body of water you see behind us is not the ocean but the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The wind that day was completely insane. We were out there for about ten minutes before my hands went numb. It was pretty, though.

And here we are back on the deck of our cabin.

Aww. I waited inside while Richard set up the camera because even away from the serious wind it was cold as crap.


<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31