<< first day of 19th grade >>
2003-09-30 - 3:04 p.m.

Yesterday was my first day of 19th grade. Here are a few initial impressions:

1. A five hour class with only two ten-minute breaks? Is too long.

2. Especially if you went on an excruciating hike up a mountain the day before.

3. But I digress.

4. While I am perhaps not the coolest of the new MLIS students, I think it�s safe to say I�m not the nerdiest. There is fierce competition for that spot.

5. I know this partly because the professor made all eleven billion of us in the Introduction to Library Studies class introduce ourselves and then admit to a guilty pleasure. Among other things, a membership in the Society for Creative Anachronism, as well as an obsession with Dark Shadow were not only admitted to, but received high-fives from other students.

6. Don�t know what those things are? Congratulations. You are probably getting laid!

7. Nobody responded to my guilty pleasure (America�s Next Top Model) with much enthusiasm.

8. The other day someone said to me, �You�re a freshman, right?� and tried to give me a flier.

9. I did not take the flier.

10. Today a guy in a Kaplan t-shirt said to me, �Ever think about graduate school?�

11. You�d better believe it, buddy.

12. The multitudinous Christian groups on campus are all after me to join; they hound me in the quad and follow me into the buildings. Either I look very god-fearing, or else I look like a big-time sinner in need of some savin�. I�m not sure which.

13. I kind of feel like I�m kicking ass at my job right now, and my job is really quite hard and multifaceted.

14. It�s only the first week of class, though.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31