<< good news, and then I ramble on about Turkey for some reason >>
2003-04-14 - 1:55 p.m.

Good news! I got one of the three departmental graduate assistantships that the library school offers. So this means that I won't have to pay tuition, that I'll get a stipend (not quite enough to live on, but almost), and that I'll get health and dental insurance. Let's give a big shout-out to insurance!

Seriously, this is a huge relief. I thought, after they didn't call me back last week like they originally said they would, that they had given it to someone else. So now I'm just going to be hellishly in debt when I graduate, instead of living-in-a-box, selling-my-first-born-to-the-government in debt. That's a big difference.

**

**

Meanwhile, Syria says, "What the fuck?"

**

**

Speaking of that part of the world, I have suddenly become overwhelmed with the desire to go to Turkey. Why? Well, partially because I saw one of those Lonely Planet/GlobeTrekker shows on it the other day, and they just made it look so good. (Incidentally, I love those shows. They were the only good thing that ever appeared on the Travel Channel, in between "Hotels That You Could Never Possibly Afford" and "Irritatingly Plastic Resorts of The Carribean." Naturally, the Travel Channel got rid of them, and now they appear on PBS, which is fine with no-cable-having me.) Turkey is just so beautiful and filled with strange relics and people who will pound the shit out of your back for $3 and fires that can't be put out, and everywhere Justine (our intrepid explorer) went, even the supermarket, people offered her tea. For free. I'd like to go to a place like that.

I realize that Turkey isn't the safest destination right now, but since I can't afford it right now anyway let's not twist our knickers in a bunch over Turkey's proximity to the Ever-Growing Axis of Countries To Whom George W. Would Like To Give A Texas-Sized Ass-Whoopin'. Okay? Okay!

I really want to travel, more than I ever have before. If I had had to pay for this whole degree, I would never have gotten out of debt in time to go anywhere very far away until I was about 50. But now maybe I can. Want to come? I could probably be talked into Morocco.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31