<< incredibly boring entry that you seriously don't want to read >>
2006-04-03 - 1:29 p.m.

I just got back from an abortive mission to get my boobs squashed. Last week, I spent an hour on the phone with my health insurance provider (Aetna, in case you care or are interested in toilet papering their corporate offices or something). I was told that my mammograms at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance (the place where I've had them done before) would be completely covered, so I called SCCA and made an appointment. Today I headed over there for the mammogram, and guess what? Not covered.

I don't know why I ended up crying in the Patient Financial Services office at SCCA. The two people working there were horrified and I could tell they felt really bad for me. I know I am a big fat baby about this stuff, but I swear I have already put in at least an eight hour workday trying to get this stuff scheduled, and still my boobs remain unsquished. It's not like I'm trying to plan a trip to Mexico here. I just want to make sure I don't have cancer. Okay?

I called Aetna again and managed to get put through to a supervisor. The supervisor did not pretend to give two shits about my wasted day off or how long my mammograms are being postponed. Why should she? It's not like I can opt out of the Aetna plan before November anyway. And even then I probably won't, because this is the only plan available to me that pays even most of the costs of the boob stuff. I don't know what the going retail price of a mammogram is, but I'm guessing it's about 3-6 weeks of my salary.

The asshole Aetna supervisor did eventually give me the number to another Mammogram-o-rama, so I called them and made (another) appointment.

Me: I need to make an appointment for a mammogram.

Appointment Lady: Okay. Are we doing both breasts?

Me: Sure, why not?

Her: Ha! Good point.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31