<< potato sacks vs. strippers >>
2004-08-12 - 1:10 p.m.

So, the wedding last weekend was lovely. It was by far the most refreshingly laid-back wedding I�ve ever been to; the range of attire was pretty much jeans on up to sundresses and khakis (worn by the groomsmen). The bride was Mexican, so the ceremony was bilingual, which was interesting.

The only wedding-related event besides the wedding itself (and the reception, naturally, at which I was pulled into a conga line. Shut up) was the bachelor party�my very first, out in a cabin in the North Cascades. I wasn�t the only woman there, and the party was very much not disgusting�there were potato sack races instead of strippers/hookers, for instance. (I came in third in my heat, but by that time I was already crippled by several beers and a couple of swigs of Jameson.) If I ever get married, I hope my husband has a bachelor party just like it.

James was an incredibly considerate date, which was a relief, because I�ve had bad experiences as a groomsman�s date before. You know, they have duties, and if you don�t know a lot of other people at the wedding you can easily end up in a corner talking to somebody�s Great Aunt Ethel, who has had just a little too much to drink and wants to tell you about her rheumatism or whatever. But James never let that happen, and I was deeply grateful. He�s a writer, too. I highly recommend him to any single woman living in the greater San Marcos metropolitan area, particularly one looking for a kept man.

Since then I�ve had three other college friends in town, visiting both Danny and me. (You might remember from an earlier entry that one of these guests�Christina, who actually stayed in my tiny apartment�was James ex-girlfriend. Or you might not care. ) It was lovely to see all of them, but now I am ready to attend to my own life just a tiny little bit. I haven�t seen anyone who actually lives here in ages. Call me, people who live here. I miss your pretty faces.

**

**

Dating is hard. As Mrs-Roboto points out, it�s easy to start things with people but not so easy to stop them. At least, that�s the part I seem to have the most trouble with.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31