<< the sweet life >>
2005-06-16 - 8:34 a.m.

So many happenings, so few journal updates.

Let's see . . . back in the mists of time last Friday night, R. and I graduated from library school. I ended up being glad I did the silly ceremonial walking thing, mainly because the graduates were so much more excited and proud than at other graduation ceremonies I've participated in. Plus, god knows I'm glad to have it behind me.

Saturday, there was a celebration of the graduation, and a good time was had by all, I think. Thank you again, Mrs. R.

Sunday I planted some herbs and tomato starts at our new house, though we haven't moved in yet. I was getting anxious about getting the tomatoes in the ground.

I finished up work at the library on Tuesday. The staff got me a cake and a card, but the patrons chose that day to heap on the abuse, for some reason. In one instance, I had to ask a couple to leave the building--they had been warned already not to sleep in the library, and the second nap on the same day equals expulsion. The couple said they were on medication that makes them sleepy, pointed out that we don't do anything at our jobs anyway, and went on to suggest that kicking them out was discrimination.

I don't doubt that methadone makes you very sleepy, but you still can't sleep in the library because--this is truly the reason for the policy--you could be dead or dying and we wouldn't know. The library can be many things to many people but it's not a free daytime hotel.

The couple took my name on their way out and said they would be speaking with the manager. I almost spelled it for them and told them to knock themselves out.

Yesterday I had my final interview with the county library system (to get into their hiring pool--not for a real job), and I think it went well. It was actually less an interview and more a battery of tests, and I was well prepared and, I hope, reasonably charming. The county system awards you points during the pool interviews, and you have to get enough to be at the top of the pool in order to get an interview for a real job. So, we'll see.

And so now, I'm unemployed. Well, mostly--I'm still wrapping up my job at school, but once that's done it's just living the sweet life, drinking 40's on the corner with my homies.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31