<< I'll give you somethin' to drink about >>
2003-03-19 - 8:57 a.m.

Last night the monkey and her man took me out to a George Jones concert as a (very early) birthday present. I really enjoyed it; it was nice to see a show PBS-style for a change, lounging in my seat in the lovely Paramount theater and trying to peer around the cowboy hat of the guy in front of me. George was a little bit sick so his voice wasn't all that it usually is, but that was okay.

It didn't get weird until the end, when the Possum and his back-up singers did a cover of that timeless Lee Greenwood classic, "God Bless the USA." They had a video screen behind them which showed such patriotic images as a child waving a flag, some fruited plains and shining seas, and yes, George W. Bush walking through a veterans' cemetary. (Any guesses as to which got the loudest applause from the audience?) Then for the grand finale, some stagehand came out and waved a giant flag behind the band, while a virtual flag waved on the video screen. (L's comment: "Do you think that's his only job, touring with George Jones as the flag-waver?") The audience went wild.

I may not be much of a patriot, but I really am kind of a honky-tonk girl at heart. After a few songs, all I wanted to do was drink a lot and cheat on people, and then maybe sing a sad song about my mama.

**

**

So I've been doing these interviews for the Washington Toxics Coalition of people who have suffered health problems due to pollution. Between you and me, I'm not crazy about doing interviews. I had an internship with a magazine when I was in college and they sent me on the same kinds of assignments--little human interest pieces--and I wasn't crazy about it then, either. Journalism is not a career for shy people. Plus, I always feel like the interviewees are expecting a Reporter, and then when I show up they are disappointed. I'm not sure that my appearance instills immediate confidence.

But it does make me feel semi-useful; when my out of town friends call and ask what I'm doing, I have something to say besides tooling around on the internet during the day and talking to my cat at night. It's a step.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31