<< lists >>
2005-08-27 - 2:53 p.m.

Things I like about being a librarian

1. I'm always improving.
It sounds corny, but I really like the idea that I can continually get better at my job just by being a more interesting, well-read, and well-rounded person. Even watching crappy reality TV could potentially help me answer someone's question better. Well, it might. You don't know.

2. Lots of variety.
No two days are ever just the same.

3. The kids in the workroom listen to Air America.
This warms the cockles of my heart.

4. I feel useful.
People usually seem really surprised that I can help them do stuff, and even enjoy it.

5. Every day is casual Friday.

6. There's a lot of list-making--top horror novels for teens, most challenged books ever, etc. etc.
I like lists.

1. Crazy people.
I thought that there would be fewer of them here than at my other, more urban branch, but no. About the same. Libraries are crazy people magnets and that's about all there is to it.

2. Rude assholes.
Yesterday an overweight man of late middle age, wearing shorts and a baseball cap, came up to the desk and started screaming at me about the computer--it wasn't letting him log on, his precious time was being wasted, whatever whatever. I suggested that it sounded like someone else had already booked the computer, but I would be happy to take a look.

So he screamed, "Just forget about it! It's too late now!" and walked off in a huff.

Two minutes later, he was back at the desk. "I have an extra ticket to the Mariner's game on Sunday--would you like to go?"

So maybe I should have put him in the crazy category, but it's a very fine line.

3. Working Saturdays.

But really, that's about it. Overall, I like it here.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31