<< dolphins >>
2005-04-21 - 6:28 p.m.

Thanks so much for all the perfume suggestions! I'm really quite excited about going to the department store with my list of fragrances. I knew I could never handle narrowing down an infinite number of smells, but 7 or 8 I can do. Plus, they all sound fun--who doesn't want to smell like Tuscany? (I've never been there, but I assume it's nice.) Or spinning? I like spinning.

**
**

My first day of work went really well. I had a lot of grateful patrons, and I felt like I actually handled all information needs quite professionally. Mostly patrons are just surprised when you're not a complete asshole to them, though, so that always works in my favor.

Plus, I just felt more like it was MY library, rather than feeling like a barely tolerated guest. Maybe it was my Official Badge (complete with photo and first name) or maybe it was the knowledge of the eventual paycheck, but I really did feel a lot more like a grown-up with a real job.

I wonder if it's like the difference between living with someone and being married to him--all the activities are the same but you notice the change. However, having done neither, I am in no position to judge.

**
**

This weekend we are going to Whistler (that's in Canada, our neighbor to the north) to celebrate the blessedly low-key nuptuals of my friend Danny. I have never downhill skiied in my life and I am not particularly interested in skiing--if I want a really expensive recreational habit I'll just take up drug use. I recently heard about a drug called dolphins, and I'm not sure what they are but any narcotic named after an aquatic mammal is probably for me.

Luckily though, the bunny slopes are apparently closed at Whistler, leaving only the Very Scary Slopes up and running. So I can just pretend to be deeply disappointed and spend my days in the lodge consuming hot toddies, or whatever it is one is supposed to consume in ski lodges. This is the part of the ski experience that has always appealed to me most anyway.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31