<< our labels didn't even have ROOM >>
2006-02-08 - 8:00 p.m.

I've been thinking about the dork who recently commented in Mrs. Roboto's guestbook that she (Mrs. Roboto, not the dork) really, deep down inside, wants a big fat houseful of babies. (Naturally, people like this do not deserve to be thought about, but it is often the people who deserve it the least that are thought about most, isn't it? I'm looking at you, Mr. President.) What I wonder is, why does this woman give a shit whether or not Mrs. Roboto has babies? It seems to me that if you are a breeder and you hear that someone else doesn't want to have children, then the only logical response is, "Fantastic! More limited resources for my numerous progeny!" or something like that.

But instead, these people are so insecure about the choices they are making with their lives that the very idea that other people might choose differently strikes them as a personal affront. Like all of those legions of people who feel that if gays get the right to marry, their own marriages will immediately be rendered null and void. No folks, your marriage will still be the same loveless source of misery it's always been! Rest easy!

I see this happening in smaller ways, too--maybe more so lately, since people my age are making decisions that will affect how they live the rest of their lives. A couple of months ago a friend of mine came to visit us, and she and I were talking about marriage--she just got married earlier this year, and she took her husband's name. She asked me if I would ever take Richard's last name, and I said I wouldn't. If you want to take your husband's last name, I have no problem with that--it's just not something I'm interested in doing. I am me and I choose to remain so. Anyone who would like to take my name is welcome to it. Richard and I have talked about this, and he has no desire for me to change it. My friend said, "Well, if you don't take your husband's name, that can really cause huge problems."

"Really? Like what?"

"Like, when Bill and I did our Christmas cards this year, we had to do a whole separate line on the envelopes for couples who didn't have the same last name, and our labels didn't even have ROOM for an extra line!"

Wow, that IS a huge problem. What a fool I have been.

This same friend (who, I should say, is a lovely person) just got pregnant, and is planning a move to the suburbs of New York, where she will basically be a housewife. She told Richard and me that we would eventually decide to move to the suburbs "when we grow up." No, I don't think so. Chain restaurants and strip malls freak me out, and I prefer walking to driving. Choosing to live in the city doesn't mean I'm suffering from some kind of arrested development. I just don't want to live in my car.

Anyway. I'll tell you a decision I do feel threatened by: Rory's decision to move in with Logan. I'm sorry, but what the hell? I thought we were safely rid of that hoser. Gilmore Girls, you are breaking my heart.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31