<< Hillites? Hittites? Hellions? >>
2003-07-14 - 10:17 a.m.

One really cool thing about this weekend was that I got to hang out with a four-and-a-half-year-old girl (Not five. Not four. I'm sure you understand.) and tell secrets. I never get to hang out with kids, and I miss them. Adults are so depressingly predictable, but pretty much every possible outcome seems equally likely if you're four. Plus, I don't necessarily think of myself as being great with kids, which worries me sometimes because I want to hang out with them for a living. But you know what? I really am pretty good with kids. They like me. I'll make a good story lady.

At the Cap. Hill Block Party yesterday, Birdgyrl and I ran into one of her MLIS classmates, and he said that the one field of librarianism that's really hiring these days is school librarianship. So that's good to hear. I'd make more money doing that than working in a public library, and plus, two words: Summers. Off. Stuff to think about, anyway. I really enjoyed having a dorky future librarian talk with Birdgyrl and her friend. I think I'm going to spend my afternoon writing my resignation letter to WGSB. Ah . . . sweet, sweet resignation letter.

The block party was a good time. What impressed me the most, you ask? Cocktails! They served cocktails in the beer tent! Right there outside on Pine Street! It was so very New Orleans of them, and although I personally didn't partake of the cocktails, I had a warm, fuzzy feeling just knowing that all of my fellow Capitol Hillians (Hillites? Hittites? Hellions?) were getting just as drunk as they needed to get.

Last night's USE show? Awesome, as ever---maybe even more than ever. I think the band was pretty excited to play to such a huge, excited crowd. I was happy for them, and happy for me because I was right up front (of course). Nobody stalks like we do, baby!

Edited to add: At one point this weekend I saw a man with a tattoo running along the inside of his arm that said, "I have wonderful friends." I should get one, too.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31