<< wankers >>
2006-03-23 - 9:19 a.m.

I feel like I'm getting the hang of the new job, more or less. There have been no more major debacles along the lines of what is sure to become known as Soup Pants Week 2006, and I am carving out a bit of space for myself, both literally (I now have my very own drawer) and figuratively. It's going to be a fun job.

There have been quite a few wankers in the library lately. One of them told me that he was glad the library system had longer open hours now. I agreed with him that the longer hours are fantastic, and pointed out that it takes money to keep the library open. He said that this was ridiculous, since the library is always there, and is simply being wasted whenever it is not open.

I pointed out (nicely) that I and the other staff members were not, in fact, made out of furniture, but had to buy food at the grocery store like everyone else, which we did using money, which we made by working. This, I explained, is the money that is necessary to keep the library open. The idea was truly a revelation to the man--it had never occured to him that librarians might earn a salary. Sigh.

Another guy called the library to complain that kids had been using the computers to play games.

"I'm sorry, sir--if they were being loud or disruptive, we strongly encourage you to let us know--"

"They weren't being loud! That isn't the point!"

Pause.

"Sir, I'm sorry, I suppose I don't fully understand your complaint."

"They were using the computers to PLAY GAMES! I have IMPORTANT THINGS TO DO ON THOSE COMPUTERS!!"

First of all, sir, it's illegal for you to spy on what kids are doing on the computers. Second of all, I'd bet dollars to doughnuts that those kids and I would both agree that whatever you are doing on the computers is a complete waste of time.

Now be a grown-up and wait your turn.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31