<< I am a rebel, I live on the edge >>
2004-01-07 - 1:47 p.m.

The snow day was sa-weet. Being an Alabama girl, I never get tired of snow as a spectacle, and snow as the reason for a spur of the moment vacation is pretty much unbeatable. I admit that the whole snow thing might eventually get old�the ice/slush mess that it has turned into today is somewhat less fun, except that you can go out to Red Square and watch all the undergrads walking around like ducks, all trying desperately not to fall on their asses in front of their friends.

Okay, I was walking like a duck too.

But yesterday was beautiful, and all the Seattlites were so damn cute about the snow. Even on Capitol "we never make eye contact because we are too worried about our hair� Hill, strangers were grinning at each other like big dorks, and skiing down Broadway (!), and writing messages of love on car windshields. On the steepest hill in the neighborhood, a group of about fifty people of all ages were �sledding� using all kinds of inventive devices. One woman rode down the hill in a wok.

We had many beers.

**

**

I would tell you about my New Year�s, but it just seems like such a distant memory. Some digital photographs were taken, and when they�re online I�ll probably post one or two. I looked about as good as it is possible for me to look, and I like to document these rare occurrences. Generally, it was a good time, but my advice to myself for the future is: quit while you�re ahead. You do not want or need to go to the after party.

**

**

I�ve mentioned this to some friends, but: I�m tired of indie pop. I don�t want to hear any more skinny white boys whining for a while. I think it was KEXP�s �Best of 2003� listener poll that really pushed me over the edge.

Okay, I�m going to tell you something about me that has never won me any friends:

I don�t like Radiohead.

I know I know I know. I have heard the albums, and I can appreciate the quality of a couple of them in particular, but I have never had a single moment in my life when I really needed to listen to Radiohead. And that wasn�t even an especially good Radiohead album, was it? Granted, I�m no judge, but the RH fans I know were not impressed. So I�m rebelling by listening to a lot of Getz and Gilberto and some random Cuban music.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31